Crap for the sake of crap…

So, Facebook is down, and I’ve got to be up in a little over five hours to begin the most hectic three and a bit days I’ve had in a long time. However my sleep pattern is a little skewiff and I only got up at half eleven this morning so I’m having trouble sleeping, so here’s something.

I would have thought in times of austerity the Christmas season would be more geared towards coming-togetherness and a sense of family and shared experiences than materialistic exchange for little actual gain.

I’ve found as I’ve got older, Christmas has been less about crap for the sake of crap, more about get me something if you think I’d like it and if not, I won’t mind, and, this year of all years, just spend some time with me, as that has more value to me than anything.

That people feel compelled to get a gift in response to me getting one for them baffles me a little. I understand the social reasoning behind it, but I’m not really doing it to say I expect something in return, but that it is in fact a return gift in itself, in return for their time throughout the year.

I don’t think I’d mind not receiving a single gift from my friends at Christmas, as long as I had friends to not receive them from.

Jack out.

About Jack
A small-time traveller in a big-time world

One Response to Crap for the sake of crap…

  1. Expat Eye says:

    Hey! I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award – congratulations! http://expateyeonlatvia.wordpress.com/2013/04/24/waffle-y-versatile/

Leave a Reply

