The first post of the expedition…

Save for a slice of take-out yesterday, I’v gone three whole days in Italy without pizza. That was until tonight. When the mother of my Italian kids invited me ‘for pizza’ a couple of days ago, I can safely say I had no idea how Italians ‘do’ pizza, and I well and truly made up for what I’d not had so far.

It is the equivalent of the Brits ‘doing’ fish and chips by deep frying London Aquarium in batter and three of farmer Jones’ potato fields. We sat down and the father brought out three or four different types, including cheese, ham and mushroom, and I forget what else, but all homemade. ‘This is a nice little selection’ I think to myself, merrily tucking in to a couple of slices of each. Big mistake.

When that was finished, another couple come down from the kitchen, then another, and another. By this point I was well and truly stuffed, but they weren’t finished yet. One final pizza was to come from the Aladdin’s cave they used for cooking, followed by onion rings.

Then an amazing ‘pandora’ cake, the brother of the panettone, with brandy butter, again homemade,  and a selection of fruit. They’re big on fruit over here. Not quite as big as they are on pizza (or pasta), but still rather large. And not as big as I’m going to get on all of the above.

Jack out.

About Jack
A small-time traveller in a big-time world

One Response to The first post of the expedition…

  1. Aw, this was a very good post. Finding the time and actual effort to
    produce a superb article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a lot and don’t
    manage to get nearly anything done.

Leave a Reply

