The eighth post of the expedition – the experimentation with a new genre

Heh, I’m a little impressed with how some aspects of my posts are attracting interest from all sorts of subscriptions. I know, actual people want to get an actual email when I post.

I think the only one that isn’t ‘hey, look at my product/service/advice and buy it!’ is a teacher of EFL, I don’t dare say ‘fellow’ yet, in Latvia of all places. But nonetheless, it’s nice to know I’m not writing to myself…anymore. I had a click through from Google the other day as well. That felt odd, like someone had carved my name into the Moon.

Enough of this self-worship, what did I actually want to write about? Oh yes. I am actually going to be taking on this summer school in June, not confirmed how many weeks or precisely how many minions to expect, but I’ve been told in the region of fifty (minions, not weeks), and although it won’t really require it, I’m firing up the ‘teaching’ areas of my psyche for future use. And I came up with this:

“Well, you’re just going to have to make do.”

Now as an English mother tongue, understanding this is obviously easy. But if you try to dissect it or explain it, how do you do? It took me a little while. And if you fancy an extra challenge, translate it into another language (presuming you know another language, of course, and no, ‘chav’ isn’t).

Maybe I’m going to be ‘that teacher that confuses everyone’ this summer. I’ll let you know what I did with the sentence after the weekend.

Jack out.

About Jack
A small-time traveller in a big-time world

One Response to The eighth post of the expedition – the experimentation with a new genre

  1. Expat Eye says:

    Still reading – in Latvia of all places 🙂 I’ll be doing the summer school thing in England – it’s bloody hard work but a great experience!

Leave a Reply

