The twelfth post of the expedition – the charity single

Yesterday morning before I started with the family, I devised a little ‘lesson’. Using things that my children have an interest in anyway has proved helpful in the past to get them to willingly at least feign studying English, so I thought I’d try it again.

A few weeks ago the oldest came over with a new game on his phone – a ‘Jurassic Park’ themed, ‘Zoo Tycoon’ style affair. You buy dinosaurs, build enclosures, and sit back as people come and see your scientific miracles. But then I asked him if he’d ever seen the films, the first of which was released four years before he was even born, to which he said ‘no’. After I had got over just how old I felt – I was six when it was released – it got my brain working, and I devised some listening, learning and comprehension exercises based on an early scene from the first film. Having three films to play with, if this trial is a success, it’s something I’l surely do more of.

As I said, this is something that worked well in the past in persuading the usually stubborn boy to improve his English, after introducing pronouns and some new words via ‘Spongebob Squarepants’, but after three or so months he is still consistently stubborn to do anything unless he absolutely must. It is true across the board and not specific to English study, so I try not to take it personally, but when you’ve spent your supposedly free time devising an exercise and then your student would rather watch a repeat episode of a cartoon than complete it, it can be tough.

As yet, he hasn’t given it a go – yesterday he was exhausted from a school sports event, however not so exhausted that he couldn’t play a spot of basketball and sprain his ankle. As such he’s currently visiting the hospital with his mum, and so he may or may not complete it when, or if, he returns later.

Jack out.

About Jack
A small-time traveller in a big-time world

3 Responses to The twelfth post of the expedition – the charity single

  1. Expat Eye says:

    I know the feeling! Is he really spoilt?

    • Jack says:

      Not particularly, he just doesn’t have a particularly good work ethic, and still seems to think he can get out of things by throwing a strop.

      • Expat Eye says:

        That’s one of the reasons I prefer teaching adults most of the time! At least they’re there because they want to be – not because somebody else is making them do it!

Leave a Reply

